Francois Chaumette

François Chaumette

Inria senior research scientist


I was born in Nantes, France, in December 1963 and graduated from Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Mécanique, Nantes, in 1987. I received the Ph.D. degree and “Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches” in computer science from the University of Rennes 1, France, in 1990 and 1998 respectively.

 My research interests concern robot vision, especially visual servoing and active perception. Since 1990, I am with Inria at Irisa in Rennes. My current position is Senior Research Scientist (“Directeur de Recherche”). I was the head of the Lagadic group from 2004 till 2017.

I received the AFCET/CNRS Prize for the best French Ph.D. thesis in Automatic Control and the 2002 King-Sun Fu Memorial Best Transactions Paper Award .

I am in the Editorial Board of the Int. Journal of Robotics Research from 2008, serves as Senior Editor of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Letters from their creation in 2015, and I am one of the five Editors of the IEEE Transactions on Robotics from December 2017.

I am in the Administrative Committee of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society from 2016 and served as Panel member for the ERC PE7 Consolidator Grants in 2013, 2015, and 2017. I have been nominated as IEEE Fellow in 2013 by the Robotics and Automation Society.


ViSP : Visual tracking and visual servoing C++ library

PhD students

Zane Zake, co-supervised with Stéphane Caro (LS2N) and Nicolo Pedemonte (IRT Jules Verne)
Axel Lopez-Gandia, co-supervised with Julien Pettré
Bryan Penin, co-supervised with Paolo Robuffo Giordano
Suman Raj Bista, PhD in 2016, co-supervised with Paolo Robuffo Giordano
Aly Magassouba, PhD in 2016, co-esupervised with Nancy Bertin
Nicolas Cazy, PhD in 2016, co-supervised with Paolo Robuffo Giordano and Pierre-Brice Wieber
Riccardo Spica, PhD in 2015, co-supervised with Paolo Robuffo Giordano
Manikandan Bakthavatchalam, PhD in 2015
Laurent Coutard, PhD in 2012
Olivier Kermorgant, Phd in 2011
Mohammed Marey, PhD in 2010
Rafik Mebarki, PhD in 2010, co-supervised with Alexandre Krupa
Roméo Tatsambon Fomena, PhD in 2008
Odile Bourquardez, PhD in 2008
Nicolas Mansard, PhD in 2006
Jordi Pagès, PhD in 2005, co-supervised with Christophe Collewet and Joaquim Salvi
Andrew Comport, PhD in 2005, co-supervised with Eric Marchand
Anthony Remazeilles, PhD in 2004, co-supervised with Patrick Gros
Ali Alhaj, PhD in 2004, co-supervised with Christophe Collewet
Omar Tahri, PhD in 2004
Grégory Flandin, PhD in 2001
Youcef Mezouar, thèse en 2001
Christophe Collewet, PhD in 1999
Ezio Malis, PhD in 1998
Armel Crétual, PhD in 1998
Farabi Bensalah, PhD in 1996
Eric Marchand, PhD in 1996
Samia Boukir, PhD in 1993, co-supervised with Patrick Bouthemy


Comments are closed.